USDA Announces Cotton Board Appointments

MEMPHIS, TENN.

cting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner announced the appointment of 17 members and 17 alternate members to the Cotton Board. In 2008, the Cotton Board will consist of 37 representatives of cotton producers and importers, their alternates and one consumer advisor. Those members and alternates named today to a full term will serve a three-year term, ending Dec. 31, 2010.

"I am very pleased that these U.S. cotton producers and importers have agreed to provide their time, expertise and service to this industry," states Bob McGinnis, Chairman of the Cotton Board.

The re-appointed members are: Larkin Martin, Courtland, Ala.; Van Murphy, Quitman, Ga.; Jimmie, G. Johnson, Vanduser, Mo.; Robert D. Robbins, Altus, Ok.; Arthur W. "Whit" James, Jr., Sumter, SC; Willie German, Somerville, Tn.; Craig D. Shook, Corpus Christi, Tx.; Kenneth. W. Dierschke, San Angelo, Tx.; A. Mark Neuman, Champaign, Ill.; Peter McGrath, Plano, Tx.; Werner Bieri, Maysville, Ga.; John Clark,

Los Angeles, Ca.; Nancy A. Marino, Upper Brookville, NY;

The re-appointed alternate members are: Walter Corcoran, Jr., Eufaula, Ala.; Richard Moss, Doerun, Ga.; Edward E. Dement, Sikeston, Mo.; Robert H. Miller, Wellington, Ks.; Dale W. Player, Bishopville, SC; Larry Rice, Covington, Tn.; Debra R. Barrett, Edroy, Tx.; Jeffery Posey, Roby, Tx.; Linda Tipton, Bella Vista, Ark. and Arlene Eastwood, Jackson, N.J.

The newly appointed board members are: Dwight Menefee, Lake Arthur, NM; and Gary Eugene Ross, Yardley, Pa.; Jackie Burris, Wellman, Tx,; and Yvonne Anderson, Minneapolis, Mn

The newly appointed alternate members are: Jack L. Joy, Artesia, NM.; Madison Farmer, Lamesa, Tx.; Kristin Hughes, San Francisco, Ca.; Scott D. Hyatt, New York, NY.; June Sassler, Parkton, Md.; Sarah F. Kay, Charlotte, NC.; Helga Ying, Piedmont, Ca. and Mike P. Sturdivant, Jr., Itta Bena, Ms.

Board appointments and/or re-appointments in California will be announced soon. Δ